Making the Content Page

The content page took a lot of time since i wanted it to give a unique look which i wasn’t able to give at first. The first look of the content page was this:

CONTENTpreWhile I did some extensive research for my media magazine project I realized this page was not as attractive as i thought it would be, most food magazine pages whether cover, content or even double spread pages are with plain background colors with not a lot happening on the page which is what makes them unique and attractive to look at. I looked at the various conventions and eventually tried to follow them-

I removed all the unnecessary effects such a bevel and emboss, gradients and reduced the color palette adding more graphical aspects to it instead.

I decided to remove the flowers in the background and make it comparatively subtle so i decided to go with a polka dotted background, this made the magazine look like a proper dessert issue since it reminded me of the sprinkles that are used to put decorate the delicious little cupcakes.

I tried to incorporate as many styles as I could for the different aspects of the page. Instead ofgdg using the general format of contents, by having the heading and a little detail about the article, I decided to revise it with more graphical effects instead (adding an image and its heading below). The style of the boxes was done using the rectangular and circular shape tool. Both the tools were masked together and the image was placed on it, making it attractive and something that would attract people. This idea was inspired by how most cupcake holders are shaped like that and it kind of symbolises the genre of the magazine very clearly.
PicMonkey Collage3

The revised version of the content page looks like this, as it can be seen that various different styles have been used to enhance the look, more graphics, interesting background depicting what the genre is and it looks like something that would attract audiences. During my extensive research I noticed how not many dessert issues are colourful, it’s usually just a main picture that gives a strong impression- In my case, I feel like this is something different and gives a very cute feel to the magazine.

The final version of my content page:

content

Published by

fatimaali97

A level media student @ Learning Alliance.

Leave a comment